TRAF is governed by a Board which oversees its operations. The Board acts as trustee of the Fund and is ultimately responsible for the proper administration of The Teachers' Pensions Act. Additional details regarding the function of the Board are set out in its Terms of Reference.

The Board is comprised of seven members – three nominated by The Manitoba Teachers' Society (MTS) and four from the general public. These representatives are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. 

The current members of the Board, and their appointment dates, are set out below. All members shall continue to hold office after the expiry of their term until re-appointment or a successor is appointed.

3492 TRAF Bryton Moen 285 Cropped 2

Chair - Bryton Moen
Appointed January 17, 2018
Term Expires December 31, 2021

Bryton is a Crown Attorney with Manitoba Justice. In that role he has prosecuted a variety of different matters throughout the Province of Manitoba. He has also been Co-Counsel to the Inquest respecting the Death of Bradley Errol Greene.   

Bryton earned his Juris Doctor degree from the University of Manitoba, and his Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Brandon University.   

Bryton has been active in a variety of different professional organizations, presently serving as a Council Member on the Manitoba Bar Association, as a Member of the Practice & Ethics Committee of the Law Society of Manitoba, and as Co-Chair of the Constitutional & Human Rights Section of the Manitoba Bar Association. He has also been involved in a variety of different community organizations such as the Brandon University Alumni Association where he serves as a Director, and previously with the Brandon & District United Way, where he served as Treasurer and Chair of the Finance & Audit Committee.

norm gould web

Vice Chair – Norman (Norm) Gould
Appointed March 8, 2012
Term Expires December 31, 2016

Norm is currently the President of The Manitoba Teachers' Society (MTS). He has been a member of the MTS Provincial Executive since 2009. During his tenure, he has served as the Chair of the MTS Audit Committee, representative to the Funding for School Program Advisory Committee to the Deputy Minister of Education and as a member of the MTS Disability Benefits Plan Investment Committee. Prior to Norm's involvement with MTS, he served as President of the St. James-Assiniboia Teachers' Association for three years and was involved in numerous activities and initiatives at the local level.

Norm earned his Master of Education degree from the University of Manitoba (2005) with a specialization in educational law. He also holds degrees from Brandon University (B.Ed. in 1992) and University of Winnipeg (B.A. in 1989).

3492 TRAF Myrna Weibe 061 cropped 2

Myrna Wiebe
Appointed January 17, 2018
Term Expires December 31, 2021

Myrna has more than 25 years of experience in the financial services industry. She is currently the Executive Vice President & Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer for Access Credit Union Limited. As a member of the executive team at Access, she is heavily involved in the development and execution of corporate strategy and board governance. Myrna also oversees the information technology and security, marketing, credit, and business integration functions for Access.

Myrna has completed the IFIC Mutual Funds License, Canadian Securities Course and Certified Financial Planning designation. Her education also includes completing the Certificate in Management program at the University of Manitoba, and Post Baccalaureate Diploma in Management and Masters in Business Administration through Athabasca University.  

Myrna has been actively involved in a variety of volunteer organization boards, and currently serves on the Morden Area Foundation Board.

3492 TRAF Brenda Tobac 214 cropped 3

Brenda Tobac
Appointed January 17, 2018
Term Expires December 31, 2020

Brenda has over 16 years of business experience including her current role as a Senior Manager, Commercial Banking for Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce. She is responsible for developing new business as well as managing banking relationships of existing clients, structuring financing, and bringing in appropriate banking partners for mid-market corporations.   

Prior to banking, Brenda was a practicing CPA in cross-border taxation at Deloitte and Arthur Andersen. She has both a Bachelor of Accountancy and a Master of Business Administration from the University of North Dakota as well as a Certified Public Accountant designation.  

Brenda has participated on boards and chaired committees focused mainly on children, health, and education.

Glen Anderson 2014 Web

Glen Anderson
Appointed April 30, 2014
Term Expires December 31, 2017

Glen is currently the Staff Officer for Benefit Plans with The Manitoba Teachers' Society where he oversees the various benefit plans that The Manitoba Teachers' Society holds. Formerly, he was a teacher in the River East Transcona School Division, and served as President of the former River East Teachers' Association.

Glen received his Bachelor of Science from the University of Winnipeg and his certificate of Education from the University of Manitoba.

Tammy Hodgins Rector Web

Tammy Hodgins-Rector
Appointed January 1, 2015
Term Expires December 31, 2016

Tammy is the current President of the Red River Valley Teachers' Association and a teacher/counsellor at Sanford Collegiate in the Red River Valley School Division. She has been an active member of her local association since 1998 serving in various capacities including: President, Past President and Collective Bargaining Chairperson.

Tammy is currently a trustee on The Manitoba Teachers' Society Disability Benefits Plan Investment Committee and has served on several provincial committees related to education, finance, collective bargaining and teacher certification.

Tammy received her Bachelor of Education (1996) from the University of Winnipeg and her School Administrator's Certificate in 2004.

3492 TRAF Nike Bello 127 cropped 2

Nike Bello
Appointed January 17, 2018
Term Expires December 31, 2020

Nike has more than 20 years of professional accounting experience including her current role as the Director, Finance of Economic Development Winnipeg Inc., which has the mandate to market “Winnipeg” as a product and showcase the best attributes of Winnipeg to attract foreign direct investments, to grow the tourism industry and generate economic impact for the province. Previously, Nike worked with Pfizer Incorporation, Microsoft Ireland European Operation, Xerox Europe Ltd and Marks & Spencer with offices in Europe, Africa, and America.

Currently, Nike serves on a number of boards in various roles including Treasurer of the Board at St-Johns Ravenscourt School Parent Association, Treasurer of the Board at ComSpam Incorporation, member of Board at Kanikanichihk and member of the Board at A & O: Support for Older Adults. Nike is also a member of The Associates of the Asper School of Business and a member of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

Nike holds a Master of Business Administration from Oxford Brookes University (UK) and a Bachelor of Science in Accounting (Honours) from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. She holds three professional accounting designations – Chartered Accountant (Institute of Chartered Accountants, Nigeria), Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK) and Chartered Professional Accountant (Canada).